Painting Greek Sculpture

It is hard to say whether we naturally find beauty in the purity of a solid white sculpture, or if we have just been programed that way by our society, and particularly the views promoted by art Historian, Johann Joachim Winckelmann. Winkelmann loved Greek art for its simplicity; he found the pureness of the white sculptures naturalistic and beautiful. However, Winkelmann was unaware of the fact that many Greek sculptures were painted with vibrant colors that to the Greeks enhanced their naturalism. For whatever reason, I think that we are programmed to be more attracted to Winkelmann’s perception of Greek art; We are attracted to purity and see the paleness, and muscularity of Greek sculptures as naturalistic, and beautiful.
When Winkelmann looked at the sculptures he saw something that was intentionally white, and as the constant color of the marble illuminates details like muscularity, and facial features, it does seem naturalistic. I never knew Greek sculptures were painted and have always found them very beautiful, natural, and pure. When I was faced with the color sculpture of the Archer I was disappointed and unsure. The colors seemed so out of place with the perception I already had of Greek art. It seemed the paint (primary colors) was stealing the figures elegance and naturalism, morphing it into a bright, cartoonish figure, cheapening it a little. It kind of seemed like someone had gone in and violated the piece. However, after wrapping my head around the intention of the Greeks to use color as a naturalistic element (it is not a black and white world after all), I was able to see things differently. The intention of the artist was something that Winklemann was unaware of and perhaps if he had been aware of it he would have had different ideas about the color in its relation to purity, beauty, and naturalism.
For me both painted and unpainted are very beautiful. I still find more beauty and naturalism in the unpainted figures. I think it is because I can see the smoothness of the stone, contours of the muscle and subtleties of the face better without paint. Although, some of the painted figures stood out as naturalistic to me especially the red-hued Peplose Kore. The yellow dressed Kore didn’t seem as naturalistic, the colors were so bold and the hair was so dark making the face seem porcelain. The red-hued kore seemed more naturalistic than the unpainted version. I think the pink tint of the skin, along with colors of similar value, make the figure seem more natural.
Of course our perceptions have been formed by society and historians, but they have also been broadened by society and historians. I now have a new understanding of Greek art and find it beautiful, and naturalistic in both forms, painted or unpainted.

2 comments on “Painting Greek Sculpture

  1. Amanda Hanson says:

    “For whatever reason, I think that we are programmed to be more attracted to Winkelmann’s perception of Greek art” I don’t necessarily think that we’re programmed to be more attracted to pure white Greek statues, but I do think that it is something that has been engrained into us.

    Thinking back to my childhood, even in cartoons, I always saw white Greek statues, so that’s what I associate it with. It’s not really programming, but rather just what we’re used to seeing (since we’ve seen it our hole lives). And now that the truth about Greek statues is out I’m sure that the next generations will be used to seeing them painted.

  2. Jennifer Groce says:

    I also felt the painted sculptures were very cartoonish I still have a hard time changing the perception in my mind but i do see the detail and hard work it the painted sculpture. i do think though too that our idea of greek statues and there meanings would be different if it wasnt for Winkelmanns ideas around greek statues.

Leave a comment